Leave it to flutter to pass along this way cool lazy summer day activity.

Here’s how it works . . .

  • Answer each of the questions below.
  • Surf over to Flickr (see my update at the bottom) and type your answers (one at a time, duh!) into the search bar.
  • From the choice of pictures shown only on the front page, click on the one that moves you.
  • Once the page with your picture opens, copy the URL.
  • Surf over to the Mosaic Maker, set up your mosaic, and enter your URLs.
  • Click “Create!”

The Questions:

  1. What is your first name?
  2. What is your favorite food?
  3. What high school did you attend?
  4. What is your favorite color?
  5. Who is your celebrity crush?
  6. What is your favorite drink?
  7. Where would you go on your dream vacation?
  8. What is your favorite dessert?
  9. What do you want to be when you grow up?
  10. What do you love most in life?
  11. Choose one word to describe you?
  12. Your Flickr name? (I had to fudge this one since mine returned no results. I just signed up today for crying out loud!)

And voilà!



1. St. Brian of Albany Park, 2. Chex Mix, 3. Bloom Trail, 4. Denim Blue, 5. Jennifer Connelly 08, 6. More sex on the beach., 7. Morton Castle, 8. pecan pie ala mode at house of pies in la, 9. Super Grandpa, 10. pretending to be in an intellectual conversation, 11. Back from the North! / De retour du Nord!, 12. Banksy is this way Dad – come on!

TMI? Perhaps . . . I’ll let you do the work of figuring out my answers (although the photo credits should be a just a little helpful – sheesh!). I wear too much on me sleeve as it is. These images capture me here and now. Some shout with crystal clarity while others reflect a vagueness and fluidity that can’t be harnessed into a single perception. For a laid off guy with nothing but time on his hands this proved to be an enlightening exercise. Maybe I’ll send copies out with my resumé . . .

This isn’t a meme so play along only if you have the time and inclination. And let me know if you post yours . . . I’d love to see it.

Enjoy!

[UPDATE! Apparently you need an account with Flickr for this to work. Be sure to read the comments for some other caveats and additional tips for doing this fun summer craft project.]

9 thoughts on “Bored?

  1. I really wanted to do this, but it was too much like work tonight. I don’t have accounts on all of those things, so maybe I’ll do this later.

    Love yours, though, especially Super Grandpa!

    Peace – D

  2. Well, I did it but when it came to clicking SHARE, I wasn’t a member so when I signed up, my mosaic was gone. I’ll have to do it all over again, I guess.

  3. Corina raises and interesting point here, something that I was unaware of when I did this . . . apparently you have to have a Flickr account in order for this to work. Getting a Flickr account is free and takes 5.3 seconds, so don’t let that bump stop you if you’re up for this. Sorry for the confusion . . . maybe Flutter can sneak back over here and clarify.

    Also, there is the chance that any one of the pictures you select will not be a shared photo by the Flickr user, so when you create your mosaic, there will be a gaping hole. This happened to me with both mine and my daughter’s mosaic. And you won’t know this until you create it.

    Here’s what I did: I opened Notepad and stored all the URLs there as well, along with my answers. That way the URL doesn’t get lost.

    This whole process does take some time, and there are some aspects of it that make it a bit confusing, so save it for a rainy day if you’re so inclined.

    Hope that helps . . .

Leave a comment