Take Time

Dad,

Remember this?

You made it and gave it to me once for Christmas. Or perhaps my birthday. Doesn’t matter. What’s cool about it is that I still have it. It’s hanging on the wall behind my desk.

Words of wisdom, always before me. Since the picture is blurry, I’ll share what it says, for the benefit of those reading along . . .

Take Time

Take time to work – it is the price of success.
Take time to think – it is the source of power.
Take time to play – it is the secret to perpetual youth.
Take time to be friendly – it is the road to happiness.
Take time to dream – it is expanding your horizons.
Take time to look around – the day is too short to be selfish.
Take time to laugh – it is the music of the soul.

Such a simple gift. Handmade. Your writing, adorned with Liquid Paper. And BJ the bear.

I don’t remember the day I received this from you. I imagine that’s because it didn’t make a big impression at the time. It wasn’t fancy. Didn’t run on batteries or play heavy metal music. I couldn’t eat it. So I suppose I stuck it away somewhere.

Only to take it out one day a few years later and hang it up. And to pack it up and move it each time we relocated. Both in our own family and in mine.

Of all the things you’ve given me, this remains.

What were the circumstances of your life when you made this for me? Were finances stretched thin? Was this what you could afford to give? Since you’re a softy like me, did you cry as you made it, wishing it were so much more?

You should know that I keep it for no other reason than it came from you, and that it probably meant more to you than it ever has to me.

This is the way of a father. You give, like a flower scattering its seed upon the back of a gentle breeze, and wait to see what will take hold. What will grow in a welcome field. And, not surprisingly, it is the least profound things that produce the greatest harvest.

Thank you for this gift. Thank you for taking the time to make it. Thank you for having the courage to give it to me. I don’t remember saying that at the time. Forgive me for taking so long . . .

[This is your lucky day!  BOGO day here at The Cheek!  Not only did I post here.  I posted here as well.  Please, go read that if you have a moment to spare . . . ]

15 thoughts on “Take Time

  1. Just a few days before my daughter was born, I felt really tense so I stayed up half one night creating a piece of artwork for her nursery. It was a total fail and I threw it away. I wish I had given it to her anyway.

  2. I could not believe how happy my 31 year old daughter was when I regifted her the first pottery ashtray she made me in grade 5. You would have thought it was diamond earrings or tickets to Disneyland. The value is in the keeping 😉

  3. my dad made us a roman fort, with a base and four walls and a portcullis – it has small alcoves where you could hide plastic soldiers – it lasted really well, but eventually fell apart.

    Sometimes i think today we forget the beauty of a handmade gift

Leave a Reply

