Forty Six & 2, Give or Take

Forty Six = The number of posts I published last year here at The Cheek.

&

2 = The number of posts I’ve published this year here at The Cheek.  Or, The number of readers I have left.

Give or take . . .

(thank you)

It’s also the title of a song by the band Tool. A song inspired by both the psychology of Carl Jung and the spiritual and evolutionary teachings of Drunvalo Melchizedek.

Whatever.

In the end, it’s about change . . .

I choose to live and to
Grow, take and give and to
Move, learn and love and to
Cry, kill and die and to
Be paranoid and to
Lie, hate and fear and to
Do what it takes to move through.

This blog is changing. The chrysalis is cracking and I am emerging. Into what isn’t clear, but there is beauty here . . .

The story goes that there was once a man who decided to paint the inside of his house. He bought the paint, mixed it up out in the yard, and then set about carrying in the stuff he needed. Only his arms were overflowing so he couldn’t open the door. He tried and tried and eventually slipped. Paint and brushes and stirrers and rollers and lots and lots of paint – everywhere.

Looking back on 2010, I see the many times I was that man. I had so much I carried and dwelt upon in my mind and lugged around in books and backpacks and boxes and refused to set aside for the sake of opening a door. I stood still. Did nothing. Wrote nothing. Stared at the door and tried to will it open. I even kicked it a few times but, of course, no one answered.

Today I took some time to truly glance upon and consider the burden that is my own outlandish and hefty treasure chest of trash. And I took some time to set a few things inside it aside . . .

: What are you carrying around that you need to set aside?

8 thoughts on “Forty Six & 2, Give or Take

  1. Let go? There’s something I’m carrying that I’m unable to recognize. Yet. I keep putting stuff down, but sadly not the “big one I know is there, but can’t see.” Glad to see you back on my reader.

  2. i carry…. i don’t know what it is. but i feel heavy sometimes. and it’s not just the christmas cookies talkin’… look forward to reading more of your words here in 2011!

  3. We’ve been procrastinating getting things put away (or thrown away) since the move back in March ’10. I got my second wind and made some real progress with de-cluttering and organizing back in November but my enthusiasm waned with the hustle & bustle of the holidays.

    I’m determined to get back in gear this month and get my home office in order and my garage organized. I vowed last year to be done with all of the post-move shuffle before Summer arrived and it didn’t happen. This year, it’s going to happen!

  4. Amazing post, as always. Those things that we don’t let go of often hold us back from becoming who we would like to become. Today I am taking the luxury of an additional day off alone, to contemplate the things I need to act upon to balance a lighter (but different) load. All the best to you in your journey.

  5. I’m pretty sure I posted less than you last year. or is it less then you? whatever. i didn’t post. gonna try and get back to it. I’m caring around a bunch of fear and anxiety that is completely unnecessary. I’m tired of it. Gonna try and let that go this year.

  6. I finally got around to having a much needed but uncomfortablt talk with one of my daughters. The kick in the pants came from my sister. Sisters are good for that. :-0

    It is now one less thing weighing me down.

Leave a Reply

