Optimist

Someday I’m a be peaceful again / Till then keep speech to a min

Something about this song moves me.

Deeply . . .

I pick a lotta locks, rock a lotta shows
Build with the moms, hang with the broken crow
Been hurting the same heart since I was like two
I use sarcasm freely, bark at the greedy
Bite what feeds, shy from the seedy
I’m bold in approach, so rely on my hope
That the average emcees can’t fuck with the sound like me
I never been down with the king
It’s never something I wanted to be
Never better than the work than the toil and the reap
But the work for the wants, not the suffer for the needs
Nothing’s tougher than the… dreams and good sleep
Trying to teach my son to reach, damn right
Cause it gets a little darker every night
And the rent goes up, they gon’ cut out the…
Dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake with the quake
And uh, times like this are up
We break their stride cause we break our mirrors
They hugging that pride like it’s all there is
We make our own and if they don’t feel it
Then we are not for them (and that’s cool)
Yo, I made this beat for Alegra Oxborough
She showed me how to do the thing with the cups
I wrote the verse on a triple double Tuesday
Riding in the van in the back lot
I never made it in, never really can tell the friends these days
Find More lyrics at http://www.sweetslyrics.com
Telephone don’t sleep some days
Someday I’m a be peaceful again
Till then keep speech to a min
Shed a little skin, I’m a bet it all and win
I’m a set it off and run, I’m a kill it till it’s dead
I’m a do it till it ain’t fun and words don’t come
Then I’m gonna find another hobby
Probably find love, probably find trust
Eighty-one young with a little bit of rust
Clean interior, Minnesota plates
Money in the bank with a lot of you to thank
Relate to the…
Dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake with the quake
And uh, times like this are up
(Up for whatever, how are you?)
We break their stride cause we break our mirrors
They hugging that pride like it’s all there is
We make our own and if they don’t feel it
Then we are not for them, we come wild
Dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake with the quake
And uh, dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake, that’s it

I pick a lotta locks, rock a lotta shows
Build with the moms, hang with the broken crow
Been hurting the same heart since I was like two
I use sarcasm freely, bark at the greedy
Bite what feeds, shy from the seedy
I’m bold in approach, so rely on my hope
That the average emcees can’t fuck with the sound like me
I never been down with the king
It’s never something I wanted to be
Never better than the work than the toil and the reap
But the work for the wants, not the suffer for the needs
Nothing’s tougher than the… dreams and good sleep
Trying to teach my son to reach, damn right
Cause it gets a little darker every night
And the rent goes up, they gon’ cut out the…

Dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake with the quake
And uh, times like this are up
We break their stride cause we break our mirrors
They hugging that pride like it’s all there is
We make our own and if they don’t feel it
Then we are not for them (and that’s cool)

Yo, I made this beat for Alegra Oxborough
She showed me how to do the thing with the cups
I wrote the verse on a triple double Tuesday
Riding in the van in the back lot
I never made it in, never really can tell the friends these days
Telephone don’t sleep some days
Someday I’m a be peaceful again
Till then keep speech to a min
Shed a little skin, I’m a bet it all and win
I’m a set it off and run, I’m a kill it till it’s dead
I’m a do it till it ain’t fun and words don’t come
Then I’m gonna find another hobby
Probably find love, probably find trust
Eighty-one young with a little bit of rust
Clean interior, Minnesota plates
Money in the bank with a lot of you to thank
Relate to the…

Dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake with the quake
And uh, times like this are up
(Up for whatever, how are you?)
We break their stride cause we break our mirrors
They hugging that pride like it’s all there is
We make our own and if they don’t feel it
Then we are not for them, we come wild

Dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake with the quake
And uh, dead ends to chase, feelings to fake
New hearts to break, amends to make, they all so
Afraid and safe, in need of space
But hugging that crowd, only shake, that’s it

8 thoughts on “Optimist

  1. Maybe I don’t get it. Maybe I can’t past the rap. But if you’re serious and it does really move you, deeply, then good for you. If you’re tongue is in your cheek, then . . .

  2. Tongue so NOT in cheek . . .

    And that’s cool. Some people just don’t like that kind of music. I give you props for being the first to comment; this isn’t my usual type of post.

    I’m surrounded by so many styles and genres, but hip hop has been on my brain lately; I took a class this past semester titled “Hip Hop and Spirituality” for my Religious Studies minor, and this artist was one of my favorite discoveries . . .

    Something about this song, and the superb video, gets me every time . . .

  3. Interesting. Currently all my music tends towards ‘I’m pissed at the whole world. Rrraaarrghhh!’ (from all genres), but this was cool. Might try and find some more by this guy.

  4. blue i couldnt agree more.

    this is real rap. real emotions and true lyrics. i’ve been i hip hop/ rap fan since the 80’s when sugar hill gang was on top of the world. to see what rap has evolved into over the past few years is sad. i get upset when people tell me that lil wayne is the best rapper ever.. no one knows real music anymore. There is only a small handful of good rappers, but the good ones like P.O.S. dont recieve any attention. I hope they continue to make good music because if they stop… i dont know who will be left.

Leave a Reply

