Magic

And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you, because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.

~ Roald Dahl

“I’m going to be a dad.”

Those words made me cry twice in my life.

Once came in March of 1993. The pill hadn’t been good to my wife; she developed a blood clot during the preceding frigid North Dakota winter. The doctors suspected it was the medication, so we decided to stop the pill and see what happened. In most cases where people stop taking the pill, babies happen. And after a couple months of . . . ahem . . . shenanigans between the sheets, my wife suspected she had a bun in the oven, so we went to the hospital for a pregnancy test. She was working at the time, so I beat her to the punch by calling the hospital for the results; I couldn’t wait, you see, and I have a bit of an impulsive streak. After hearing about the positive test, deafening the poor nurse on the other end of the line, and setting all the dogs in the neighborhood to barking, I called Garsy at work and somehow managed to get those precious words out of my throat, amid a flood of emotion . . .

“I’m going to be a dad!”

Add the little word “Again!” and I’ve said a variation of that exclamation four times over the years, though none have been as momentous as the first time.

The second time I cried at those words came yesterday, June 10th, 2009. My dear friend Martin wrote them on his blog, and they’ve been a long time coming. In a world where making babies comes easy for a majority of the population, Martin and his wife had been dealt a shitty hand. For over two years they’ve shagged and shagged and shagged some more, had a plethora of tests, explored the nether regions of her anatomy with cold dildo cams, endured the dronings of innumerable croc-wearing, seldom-smiling practitioners of medicine, and waited. I’ve watched it all unfold from the comfort of my happy, great-with-children home, waiting with a different sort of eagerness for the day when he’d post those words . . .

“I’m going to be a dad.”

Oh, Martin!

I blog for a different reason than some people. I’m not looking to get rich by doing this. I don’t really care about pageviews or statistics. I started this in an effort to reach out across the internet and meet new and interesting people. To build a community where ideas are shared, opinions are expressed, differences are not all that important, and bonds are forged. And though I’ve not met any of you, those bonds are strong, and the emotions very real. Magic happens here.

These tears are real for you, my friend. Welcome to the club . . .

[photo credit]

20 thoughts on “Magic

  1. You really know how to make a fella well up at work, don’t you.

    I can’t say much more than thank you.

    I’ve been face achingly happy for five days now, long may it last.

    Thank you.

  2. I, too, am overjoyed by this news! I nearly fell off my chair when I first read it.

    And, Brian, this?

    “I blog for a different reason than some people. I’m not looking to get rich by doing this. I don’t really care about pageviews or statistics. I started this in an effort to reach out across the internet and meet new and interesting people. To build a community where ideas are shared, opinions are expressed, differences are not all that important, and bonds are forged. And though I’ve not met any of you, those bonds are strong, and the emotions very real. Magic happens here.”

    I need to remember this. Too often I worry about what others’ think of what I’m putting out there. At times, I’ve felt defensive. Thanks for redirecting me to my initial set of blogging values. 🙂

  3. That’s great news, although “shagged and shagged and shagged some more” doesn’t really sound so bad. Just kidding of course. Ahem.

    Congratulations to Martin. Parenthood is a trip.

  4. Beautiful! Congratulations to your friend Martin! For some reason the words, “I’m going to be a dad!”, have a unique sweetness to them. It’s refreshing to read some good news on the internet!

  5. I too was overjoyed to hear this great news. I even went so far as to send Martin an email and for the first time used the word “gushing” in a sentence. I’m finding the relationships out here are very special indeed.

  6. I love babies, but I’m happy to say my baby-making days are over. For me the highlight moment for both my children wasn’t learning that my wife was pregnant, it was the moment when they were pulled from my dear wife’s c-sectioned belly. Entire lives flashed before my eyes.

  7. It is amazing to me how much “magic happens here”. I’m closer to some of my blog friends (including you) than some people I know in real life. Sometimes I wonder if the closeness can be real since I’ve never laid eyes upon any of you. But I conclude that it is very real. When I read Martin’s blog, I really felt pure and absolute joy.

  8. I didn’t know why I was blogging, when I started. I still have various reasons, but the biggest has to be the people. You. Martin. And so, so many others. I screamed, then started sobbing when I read that entry on his blog. My husband raised an eyebrow, and I blurted, “Xbox is pregnant!”. Which sounds like gibberish, if you don’t know what’s going on.

  9. How wonderful for Martin and his wife and how wonderful that Martin’s joy is shared by his readers. It is a silly little world we’ve each created for ourselves through our blogs. Silly but it’s so real, too.

Leave a Reply

