Golly

The days come and go like muffled and veiled figures sent from a distant friendly party, but they say nothing, and if we do not use the gifts they bring, they carry them as silently away.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Every day is a gift — even if it sucks.

~ Sherry Hochman

I don’t win many awards. It seems some days that Blogland just doesn’t know where to pigeonhole me, for I am up one day, down the next, and generally off-topic or late into the conversation. These traits do not a “successful” blog make. But you, Dear Tweaker, are a patient and longsuffering soul, and every once in a while, one of you bestows upon me a nod of appreciation.

Last week, Kweenmana, the Carol Brady of my Reader subscriptions, wrote . . .

Brian at The Cheek of God is one talented writer.  His thoughts on unemployment, going back to school, and raising his kids are put into well-crafted posts that should be, in my humble opinion, published in national publications.  His is a tongue in cheek type of humor that is fun to read.

Her family is large, older, blended, and some of the neatest people on the planet. Coming from her, these words mean so much. She has been there for me, both in public on her blog and though private conversations (read: pleas for help), offering words of encouragement and sage advice. Thank you, Kari Ann, for all that you’ve come to mean to me. I may now make it through my kids’ teen years, not unscathed, but wiser.

So, now it falls to me to pass along this Lemonade Award to a few of my fellow bloggers who look at life through lenses tinted with gratitude . . .

Chris at CSquaredPlus3 never fails to make me laugh. Even with her new braces (or perhaps because of her new braces), her smile is bright and her words warm my heart.

Amanda at The Wink has been a Cheeky favorite since Day One. Her love for her daughters and respect for her man are second-to-none, and she’s the one I will readily go to for words of encouragement should I ever get brave enough to finally kick my smoking habit.

Gwen of Gwen Alison Wonderland is a recent addition to my Reader. I admire her honesty most of all. Seldom are her posts happy little chunks of life; rather they tend to cut deep to the heart of what it means to hurt and yet wear a genuine smile. If we ever meet up, I plan to hug her neck tight.

Jennifer of Thursday Drive takes me along wherever she goes, and the ride is always more than worth it. She listens, shares openly, and has a knack for taking the scenic routes. I’m glad she’s moving to my neighborhood.

Ed, known to all as Zoe’s Dad, is my glass-half-full go-to guy. He sees light in his kids’ eyes, and I generally end up blubbering like a baby after reading his stuff. We need to do coffee one day, my friend.

Pat, who is Single for a Reason, adds perspective to my life. She’s the wise, no-bullshit foil to my hyperbolic side and never fails to call me out when I need it. And she can take one helluva behind-the-wheel photograph.

Becky, always busy Tapdancing on the Edge of Reason, is my twin-sister-of-sorts, an ever-present help in time of an emotional uplift. She’s a history buff, a painter with words, and a dear friend. She hasn’t been posting often enough as-of-late, but when she does, I jump for the proverbial joy.

Michael, my header man who is Always Going, Going, Going on Beyond, would be the guy I would gladly hang out with most frequently, if only he didn’t live in the outback of Canada. His kids are adorable, his eye attuned to the beauty of the simplest things, and he prods me toward greatness.

Caren lives an Open-Hearted Life that I admire beyond words. Her writing is magical, and her son has the coolest hair! She’s the cool side of the pillow, welcoming and tender.

And finally, there’s Mark, lost In Ether. Whether he’s writing about bologna or baloney, he makes me laugh and think simultaneously. What more can a guy ask for?

I had to pick ten, and there they are. I wish I could just post the contents of my Reader for you; so many people, not enough space. Each one of you has made an impact in my life. I wonder what you’re up to, think about you often, and hope you are well. Don’t feel slighted if you didn’t make my list. You know I love you, right? And there are other awards to be doled out, so stick around . . .

20 thoughts on “Golly

  1. Wow, man. Thanks. It’s an honor to be included with such an impressive gathering of bloggers.

    And…..the coffee is brewed fresh every morning–stop by anytime!

  2. I am so full of gratitude and feel quite undeserving (Do you expect anything else from me at this point? : ) I have to agree with this “Carol Brady” about your blog containing publishable material. You know that Billy Joel song “Piano Man”? Well that one line in the song comes to mind, “…And they sit at the bar and put bread in my jar and say, ‘Man, what are you doing here?'” That’s sort of how I feel about your blog. I mean, I’m so grateful that you’re “here”, but I know you’re destined for even greater things with your writing. I hope that makes the kind of sense in words that it does in my head. Thanks for the award, and thank you for reading my blog. It’s really an honor.

  3. You are a wonderful blogger/writer. You’re beyond needing to be pigeonholed. You’re BRIAN! From “The Cheek of God”! [Who “…definitely inhaled…” – I love that.]

    I’m humbled and happy that you passed the award along to me, as has already been pointed out, along with such talented bloggers. Your kind words made me smile, even though it still hurts a bit with the braces. Thank you.

  4. Great links. I’ll be by to visit them. Thanks!

    Of course you should win awards and have people reading your blog! I could have told you that!

  5. You are far braver than you realize and I’d put all my chips on you making quitting stick. You just have to decide to do it. I’d count all the reasons to have you quit, but they’re staring right at you. Thank you for your friendship and presence in my life.

  6. Aw man! I just pulled myself out of a crying jag last week, and now you’re going to make start up all over again!
    No, seriously, thanks so much for the vote of confidence. Our blogs are both niche-defying kinds of places, and it means the world to me that I have the best twin brother a girl could ask for. One of these days, we’re going to hook up and throw down, but in the meantime, mwahh! I love you too man!

  7. Hi. Thanks for using my quote and giving me credit. It’s fun to follow this quote around see where it goes. Continued success!

    Sherry Hochman

Leave a Reply

