Why So Serious?

In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.

~ Khalil Gibran

Sheesh. I can’t even include an epigraph without it being all serious! I mean, the quote is awesome, and says some poignant stuff, but it’s so . . . heavy.

Let’s try again . . .

Maturity is a bitter disappointment for which no remedy exists, unless laughter can be said to remedy anything.

~ Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

Nevermind . . .

Let’s face it . . . things have been fairly morbid around The Cheek as of late. All the pressures that come with school, and job-hunting, and death, have bled onto these pages, making it seem as though nothing upbeat or laughter-worthy has happened.

Not true.

So, for your enjoyment and mine, I offer this mash-up of merriment and minutia . . .

**********

My daughter Aryn is officially a published poet!

Early last year, as part of a unit on Martin Luther King, Aryn wrote a poem titled “Freedom is Only 50 Percent.” Her teacher loved it and submitted it to our local township newspaper, where it was printed anonymously. Then grandma came for a visit last summer and decided to take a copy of the poem to her writing group, where one of the participants is the editor of Writers’ Journal magazine. When my mother-in-law shared Aryn’s poem with the group, the editor decided to pass the poem along to the magazine’s poetry editor, Esther M. Leiper-Estabrooks. She wrote a one-page critique of the poem – calling Aryn a “sophisticated poet”, one who “will succeed in any area of writing or activism she chooses” – that is now available in the May-June issue. She also writes, “Whereas a less-skilled poet might preach or parade platitudes, these twelve lines are presented in a serious manner yet with a light touch poised between humor and whimsy.” Yep. That’s my girl. Here’s her poem . . .

FREEDOM IS ONLY 50 PERCENT

Freedom is only 50 percent,
At least that’s what I’ve heard.
I think that there should be much more,
I think that it’s absurd.

Care is only 30 percent,
I think it should be doubled.
People should care more about friends
And less about their troubles.

M. L. K. covered freedom.
I will cover care.
Now that we have these two down,
Who will cover share?

To celebrate her achievement, we went to her favorite restaurant . . . Applebee’s. She is currently working on a chapbook of poems for the upcoming Young Authors Conference at her elementary school. She’ll be attending an area arts camp this summer as well, and she’s planning to enter a few poetry contests. The ball is rolling for my sweet little girl, and she’s enjoying the ride. If you feel led to share in her joy, visit her at her blog, I Must Not Tell Lies, and leave her a comment . . .

**********

My son caught me Twittering the other day, rolled his eyes, and showed me this . . .

I’m not that bad! Yet. But if you feel the need for some detached, bite-sized micro-Cheekiness, look me up and follow along. I’m also on Facebook, where I have a real name and some lovely apps . . .

**********

And finally . . .

I’m wondering. Will I prove the old adage “Sex Sells” true if I go and get one of these for lunch?

Tasty . . . !

Have a super week, dear Tweakers. You deserve it . . .

[photo credit]

13 thoughts on “Why So Serious?

  1. Wow, that’s awesome about your daughter. And yeah, Twitter CAN get out of control. I try not to let it. And love the title to this post… but then again, I’m Batman obsessive!

  2. The poem is lovely…congratulations to your daughter. As for Padma, have you ever seen her on Top Chef? She always sounds like she’s just ingested some top-of-the-line opiates instead of bacon. Complete monotone.

  3. I was a comm. minor in college and had to write a final paper for a course on rhetorical criticism. I looked at the use of sex in food advertising. Too bad my research didn’t bring up anything like that. Let’s just say it would have livened things up a bit.

  4. Atta girl, Aryn! (Congratulations, proud daddy!) I’ll pop over to her blog in a sec…

    I didn’t know you were a Twitter person! I just started and I don’t think I like it. I feel so… funny, and awkward, and dorky, like I can’t hang with the quick-witted cool kids. I’ll click on your link and follow you though. πŸ™‚ Funny video! Can’t wait to show my husband.

    Padma – she makes ME want a hamburger. Jeesh.

Leave a Reply

