F%#@!ING YOUTUBE!

For a small child there is no division between playing and learning; between the things he or she does “just for fun” and things that are “educational”. The child learns while living and any part of living that is enjoyable is also play.

~ Penelope Leach

Um, yeah. I wonder if Penelope Peach would find kids surfing YouTube for hours on end to be living.

Now I’m no prude. I have spent an ungodly amount of time perusing YouTube, searching for everything from my favorite videos by 80s hair bands to philosophical discussions about The Matrix. My son and his girlfriend have channels on YouTube but use them mainly for chatting each other up when they are forced to be apart. And, yes, there are some genuinely cute things on YouTube that make me smile.

But I swear to God! If I see this . . .

. . . or this . . .

. . . or this . . .

. . . or especially this . . .

. . . ONE! MORE? TIME?! Well, ya see that picture at the top of the post? Yeah. I’m gonna go all Office Space on their Compaq!

At least they go back to school on Monday!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to cleanse my palate by watching this . . .

[photo credit]

13 thoughts on “F%#@!ING YOUTUBE!

  1. Yes, there are just some things on youtube that should be banished for all time never to be seen again.

    But, I admit, I’ve wasted my fair share of time watch all kinds of stupid junk for my own amusement.

  2. Those are pretty funny. But yeah, some of the stuff on there is pointless! My four and one year old can be entertained for quite some time by you tube surfing. They love the Gummy Bears.

  3. My son is driving me nuts with his search for Bionicles videos. On one hand, he laughs hysterically. On the other, read a freaking book already. I’ve had to cut him off a few times.

  4. I never liked YouTube until the past year or so. I still don’t think of it as a first source of anything but once in a while I will find a link to a youtube video when I am looking for info on song lyrics or a movie or an artist. Then I get stuck there for hours. You know, one link leads to another and another, ad infinitum.

  5. You know how you meet someone and you have a million things in common and your all like, oohhh, we’re so compatible…until they, um, you know, post a youtube of some REALLY sketchy thrashy rock anthem and you realize you don’t know them at all? But you had an inkling when they liked the new G&R album?

    Not that that happened, I’m just saying that “You know how it COULD” happen right?

    lol. Love Geoff Tates backlit hair byw. And why did Dumbledore lose his robe?

  6. I;ll be honest…I had to click on the last one to see who the band was. It was like and eclipse (sorry…overused cliche) but I had to watch. I couldn’t help but wonder…”who thought this it what makes a kick-ass music video.”

    I introduced my 6 year old son to you tune a few weeks ago. I felt guilty. But, all he wanted to watch was educational videos of sharks. I asked if he wanted me to find any cartoons and he said “nope…I like sharks.” I was thought that was cool.

Leave a Reply

