The Sunny Side

I won’t bore you with the details.

Sufficient is the knowing that life has its ups and downs.

Manic one day. Deep dark depression, excessive misery the next.

I’ve dwelt on both sides of the coin here in the past so another post about how the shiny and smooth can turn tainted will only belabor the obvious and send you running.


You’ve read about my grandfather and his habit of singing old-timey tunes? It doesn’t get any more old-timey than this! And the song has an eclectic


Well there’s a dark and a troubled side of life.
There’s a bright and a sunny side too.
But if you meet with the darkness and strife,
The sunny side we also may view.

Keep on the sunny side, always on the sunny side,
Keep on the sunny side of life.
It will help us every day, it will brighten all the way,
If we keep on the sunny side of life.

Oh, the storm and its fury broke today,
Crushing hopes that we cherish so dear.
Clouds and storms will in time pass away.
The sun again will shine bright and clear.

Keep on the sunny side, always on the sunny side,
Keep on the sunny side of life.
It will help us every day, it will brighten all the way,
If we’ll keep on the sunny side of life.

Let us greet with a song of hope each day.
Though the moments be cloudy or fair.
Let us trust in our Saviour always,
To keep us, every one, in His care.

Keep on the sunny side, always on the sunny side,
Keep on the sunny side of life.
It will help us every day, it will brighten all the way,
If we’ll keep on the sunny side of life.

[photo credit]

19 thoughts on “The Sunny Side

  1. I love that song! There’s a great version on the soundtrack of “Oh Brother”, but I expect you knew that!
    I was singing along with the other ditty too; the one from Heehaw – “Gloom, despair, and agony on me…!”
    Hope you’re not staying too terribly long at the Hotel Miasma – that place sucks! I should know – I checked out of there not that long ago.

  2. I am a sucker for old time country. Great song.

    When I am down, I remember an episode years ago of Mad About You when the woman was working on a campaign for a politician. And the politician was taking prozac. He was convinced to come off the drug for the campaign and after doing so, went a bit nuts.
    The woman asked if knowing that he was depressed help. And this is the kernel that I always remember. He responded something to the effect:
    “Its funny, knowing your depressed doesn’t help you stop being depressed. You just feel bad because your depressed.”

    I hope you forget your down and find something that picks you up. Feel better soon.

  3. love the song and the sentiment. the sunny side, the sunny side. i’m trying to hold on and never let go. i hope you are too. sorry i never got back to you about the random fact. i’ve been a bit out of it this week.

  4. Love the song, thanks for reminding me.

    And I think you’re preaching to the choir here, my friend. Because I have yet to come across a writer who doesn’t go through bouts (weeks, years, decades) of depression. At least, not any good ones.

  5. Yeah – I’m on the same roller coaster as you – thing is I understand more the older I get, this pain I feel is not all just my own it is associated with those around me. It allows me to be more effective in my ministry the pain and hurt I feel is not mine but from those God has placed before me.

  6. BTW – keep on the sunny side always on the sunny side, nah not for me – too much sun and a man gets sun burnt and cancers – I like the sun, but I’m not afraid of the wet weather either, I seem to grow a lot better when there’s moisture around.

  7. Clicked on the link for the history and watched the video of June Carter and Johnny Cash. Loved it, theirs was an amazing love story. When it was finished the 3 year old said, “That was a great song”.

    Hope things are well with you, Brian.

  8. Without evil there would be no good.

    I feel that the bad things that happen to us, help us to appreciate and enjoy the good things life even more.

    In my experience, I’ve found that people who’ve had cushy uneventful lives tend to be the ones who are the most easily upset, whereas the people who’ve had hard lives tend to roll with the punches better.

  9. We used to sing that song at church reunions at campfire time (a nightly gathering where we’d sing songs and perform skits) and after every refrain, someone would tell a joke. Its one of my favorite memories and definitely a pickmeup. Hope you’re back on the sunnyside soon alto I have to agree that I like the wet too– keeps my garden growing ;)

  10. Two for two. Great song. Always gets my toes tapping. This is the first time I’ve read the lyrics though. Cool.

    Look at all the great support you have here! Cool squared.


Leave a Reply

