Maya Nailed It

Well, it’s Sunday morning. Around 9:30 AM EDT. And my carcass is finally out of bed.

Before my daughter and I do the drawing, here is the list of Tweakers who are in the running for $20 to spend at Barnes & Noble. Take some time to visit a new blog today . . . Tweakers are very interesting people.

And please, hold your applause until the end.

allstarme – who got so scared once that she peed in her Halloween costume.

we-be-toys – the history junkie, especially concerning the state of Pennsylvania.

Tasses – who hates herself for her ability to tell you all the latest smut about Lindsey Lohan.

ourcrookedtree – a fellow burger-flipper who dug way into the obscure with her list.

Clayjack – with his socks dangling from the ends of his feet after a hard day’s toil.

Nicole – the mutant twentysomething with baby teeth.

kweenmama – who has a lovely place to hang her purple hat when she gets old and senile.

heatherakamrssmith – who got the one about Milli Vanilli right a day too late.

Captain Steve – who got locked out of mom and dad’s room one night, much to her dismay and confusion.

ie – and her incredibly vast vocabulary, which now includes absquatulate and palimpsest.

Maggie, dammit – one of my oldest and dearest Tweakers, potty trained in an outhouse.

nonlineargirl – your one-stop-gal for all things sliver-related.

hellesbelles86 – who is still working on not being afraid of Big Bird.

meg – another long-time reader with a cute pug and a thing for late-night TV lullabies.

Michael – my Canadian photoblogging friend who directed a real, honest-to-God movie that perhaps meg should check out.

RiverPoet – who can spell dossil even if it is the wrong word.

And finally Erika – who snuck in just in time reeking of garlic toast and orange juice. Girlfriend?!?!?! Ewww!

Others left some great comments but either didn’t leave an obscure fact or voluntarily chose not to be in the drawing. Also, if you have a blog and I didn’t link to it, please let me know and I’ll correct that posthaste.

Now, let’s have a big round of applause for our contestants!

[insert irritating commercial break here, because you simply can’t announce the winner until the sponsors have been paid . . . ]

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for . . .

Which Tweaker will be shopping for a new book soon? Zoe will now reach deep into my Queensryche hat and dig out a name (written in crayon, of course) . . .

And the winner is . . .

Congratulations, nonlineargirl! You should be receiving an email shortly where we’ll hammer out the details. There is one stipulation, my friend. You must let us know what you decide to buy and why. For in knowing what a person reads, you get to know and appreciate them that much better.

I leave you all with this . . .

When I look back, I am so impressed again
with the life-giving power of literature.
If I were a young person today, trying to gain a sense of
myself in the world, I would do that again by reading,
just as I did when I was young.
~ Maya Angelou ~

[photo credit]

12 thoughts on “Maya Nailed It

  1. Thanks Zoe! Nice choosing. I like how serious she looks doing that task.

    Happy 100 posts. (You inspired me to look at my own blog to see that I am at 462 – man, am I an old blog.)

  2. DAMN.

    Can I just say, I love that you wrote out the full “MaggieDammit” instead of just Maggie on that little slip of paper? That made me grin.

    *sigh*

    Congrats, nonlineargirl. 😉

  3. Congrats to Nonlineargirl! I’m just cheesed to have been in the running! I am again impressed with the multi-media ways in which you think to use crayons!
    Nice Queensryche hat, by the by!

Leave a Reply

