A Looming Exam

So I’ve got a major test tomorrow in my Principles of Logic class and have been swamped in analyzing complex sentences and constructing trees to check the validity of tautologies and consistency of arguments. I’m up to my eyeballs in counterexample sets and truth tables. It’s all a bit fuzzy still despite the basic nature of it all. Not as cut and dried as mathematics, but once you get the sentence variables figured out and the arguments translated into the language of propositional logic and the premises listed and the conclusions negated and the trees diagrammed . . . well it should all fall into place from there, right?!

Aaaargh!

My kids are on spring break this week and my daughter decided to go to class with me on Monday. I think she got more out of it than I did, especially when the professor started talking about symmetry. She loves art and creating things and symmetry is no stranger to her. It was cool to see her eyes light, as if to say, “Hey! I get this! College ain’t so bad after all!” Once we got a bit more in depth, she tuned out and back to her book. But for a moment there . . . well it was neat.

I promise to post something more substantial tomorrow. For now, just lend me a thought, light me some candles, and overnight me an Advil or two if you’ve got some to spare . . .

5 thoughts on “A Looming Exam

  1. Good Luck! How does this stress effect the smoking? (or lack thereof)Are you still hanging in there?
    I love to see the light of understanding in my childrens eyes… I know exactally the look and there is nothing like seeing that in there face!

  2. I’m not really stressed . . . just busy reviewing and practicing. So everything is going smooth. Unlike the norm, where I procrastinate and wait until the very last minute to pick up the book or crack the notebook and see what I need to cram in. Ha!

    Flutter – Thanks for stopping by. My daughter said it was “boring” but I know different . . .

  3. Logic, to me is like rhythm…either you have it or you don’t. I hope I do. I appreciate the overall goal is to discern objective reality through subjective lenses. I applaud your efforts, your fatherhood, and your natural rhythm.
    I’ll be praying for you and sending you mental advil telepathically!

Leave a Reply

