Inaudibly – A Ghazal

So as I was sitting here thinking about what to submit today, I glanced at my shelf and saw a chapbook of poetry I put together for a class a couple years ago. It was a hoot to revisit these rambling sophomoric efforts at saying the unsayable. The chapbook is titled Allowed in the Din and scrawled in the margins are many poignant and prodding comments by my instructor – poet, professor and friend George Kalamaras. This poem . . . he liked. It’s a ghazal – not an easy form to fill with meaningful content when writing poetry. I must have done something right, so I give it to you here. Enjoy.

INAUDIBLY

I cross a line when I critique inaudibly.
Instead, I ought to help the weak inaudibly.

Reflected sat the mistress, frantic – “What to wear?!”
Grace slipped in shining – “Oh! So chic!” – inaudibly.

Sin wraps a pink scarf tight around her milky scalp.
But wicked words won’t hide there – “Freak!” – inaudibly.

The petals spread and smile a smile that saddens me.
I know it will bloom lonely, bleak, inaudibly.

Some smack and push and shove and leave a writhing mark.
Pain burrows deep – I’m not a geek! – inaudibly.

BJ they call me in the South where things are big.
I’m not. I brave a new technique inaudibly.

7 thoughts on “Inaudibly – A Ghazal

  1. That’s a pretty tough form to use. Your sophomoric take makes my collegiate poetry appear … well, no worse than it ever was, actually, since multiplying zero by any number results in, yeah, really really bad poetry.

  2. Thanks both of you for your comments. I took the class on a whim without the prerequisites because the prof happened to be married to my other writing professor. She greased the wheels a bit and he let me in. It was my first serious attempt at poetry in, like, forever, so I was very apprehensive. I think I did well . . .

  3. Okay I admit I had to look up what a Ghazal is in order to get a better feel for the form prose you wrote. One interesting note I found was this quote from Wikipedia of all places “Because of the complexity of the words, only the upper class could truly understand the sweetness of the ghazal.” After reading that I understood why I was feeling a little plebeian! A quick read up on the complexity of the Ghazal and it’s history and I appreciate yours that much more. Thank you.

  4. Slawnski,

    While we used the ghazal form, none of us really captured what lies at the heart of this classic style of poetic expression. I got the elements right, but I’m sure it doesn’t come close to those of the masters.

    And I’m sure you’re no pleb. Far from it would be my guess . . .

Leave a Reply

